African Regions

Sankofa Childen’s Museum of African Cultures showcases the continent of Africa and its five regions; North, West, East, Central, and Southern Africa.

Northern Africa

North Africa or Northern Africa is the northernmost region of Africa. Geopolitically, the United Nations definition of Northern Africa includes seven countries and territories; Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, and Western Sahara.

West Africa

West Africa, also called Western Africa and the West of Africa, is the westernmost subcontinent of Africa. West Africa has been defined as including the 18 countries Benin, Burkina Faso, the island of Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bassau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nighera, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sao Tome and Principe and Togo.

East Africa

East Africa or Eastern Africa is the easterly region of the African continent, variably defined by geography or geopolitics. In the United Nations Statistics Division scheme of geographic regions, 20 territories constitute Eastern Africa. Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi – In central East Africa, are also included in the African Great Lakes region and are members of East African Community (EAC). Burundi and Rwanda are sometimes also considered part of Central Africa. Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, and Somalia – collectively known as the Horn of Africa. Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles – small island nation in the Indian Ocean. Réunion and Mayotte – French overseas territories also in the Indian Ocean. Mozambique and Madagascar- often considered part of Southern Africa, on the eastern side of the sub-continent. Madagascar has close cultural ties to Southeast Asia and the islands of the Indian Ocean. Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe – often also included in Southern Africa, and formerly of the Central African Federation.

Central Africa

Central Africa is a core region of the African continent that includes Burundi, the Central African Republic, Chad, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, and Rwanda. Middle Africa (as used by the United Nations when categorizing sub regions is an analogous term that includes Angola, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Chad The Republic of the Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and São, Tomé, and Principe. All of the states in the UN sub region of Middle Africa, plus those otherwise commonly reckoned in Central Africa (11 states in total), constitute the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS). Since its independence in 2011, South Sudan has also been commonly included in the region.

Southern Africa

Southern Africa is the southernmost region of the African continent, variably defined by geography or geopolitics, and including several countries. The term Southern Africa, generally includes; Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.